Sprintcars War of the Wings

Sprintcars War of the Wings


Since the conception of the South Island’s War Of The Wings series now sponsored by Hydraulink originated back in 1997 it has grown from strength to strength.

The series was created to promote and develop Sprintcar racing in the South Island, from the outset it was a bit of a struggle with only a handful of Sprintcars and it started to look doomed.

Until the guys behind it managed to convince a few Modified drivers to put tails on their Modifieds and soon after, the series started to pick up. Although still a struggle for a few years, the series stopped during the 2005/06 and 2006/07 seasons.

After this short break, former Jet Boat racer Jason Scott was the driving force behind the re-birth of War Of The Wings with some big ideas and a real determination. It is quite outstanding to see the Sprintcar numbers in the South Island grow. Nowadays numbers are hitting the mid 30’s.

More competitors are now so keen to be involved in this series, upwards of 27 plus entries can be seen at any given round.

This year there are 20 Competitors commited to each round. A few from the North Island will also make an appearance at various rounds this Year.

This is possibly the richest series in prize money throughout New Zealand. Over $110,000 in prize money is paid out plus Travel Incentives.

The series is run over 11 shows on points accumilated.

The format is marble draw for time trial to determine group seeding of 4 groups

each group has 2 heats each, then b-main and Final.

The 2017/2018 Calendar for War Of The Wings is:


  • Round 1 – 11th Nov.  Ruapuna  (Completed)
  • Round 2 – 18th Nov.  Nelson
  • Round 3 – 25th Nov. Woodford Glen
  • Round 4 – 9th Dec. Ruapuna
  • Round 5 – 30th Dec. Cromwell
  • Round 6 – 13th Jan. Nelson
  • Round 7 – 14th Jan. Blenheim
  • Round 8 – 23rd Feb. Invercargill
  • Round 9 – 24th Feb Dunedin
  • Round 10 – 10th Mar. Ruapuna
  • Round 11 – 30 Mar. Cromwell

Round one was held last weekend at Ruapuna with 27 entries

The final was won by 44t Daniel Anderson 2nd home 57n Connor Rangi and rounding out the podium in 3rd place was 64c Matt Honeywell.

Other placings went to:

  • 4th 95c Ray Baughan
  • 5th 15c Steve Duff
  • 6th 88t Jason Scott
  • 7th 87c Luke Keegan
  • 8th 16t Mathew Anderson
  • 9th 5c Caleb Baughan
  • 10th 6n Alicia McLauchlan

The next round is at Nelson’s Top of the South Speedway on Saturday 18th Nov.

The entry list is 20 as of 15/11/2017:

  •  5c Caleb Baughan
  • 6n Alicia McLauchlan
  • 7c Jason Manson
  • 15c Steve Duff
  • 16t Mathew Anderson
  • 19c Jamie Duff
  • 27i Daniel McKinnel
  • 28p Tony Uhlenberg
  • 32c Martin Harcourt
  • 44t Daniel Anderson
  • 46e Paddy North
  • 57n Connor Rangi
  • 73c Shaun Ashton
  • 75n Kris Gerrard
  • 83n Greg Teece
  • 87c Luke Keegan
  • 88t Jason Scott
  • 89n Jason Smith
  • 91t Andy Erskine
  • 95c Ray Baughan


This Sprintcar series is one of the best you will ever see. If you are near one of the tracks on any of the above dates, get yourself there to watch these Winged Warriors and competitors strut their stuff.

One of the up and coming young talented competitors is Alicia McLauchlan from Nelson. SDU have followed her progress through the Three Quarter class. The video provided below features Alicia.


SDU would like to thank Allan Batt for his help and also credit to Joseph Johnson Photography for the use of video content.

We Also would like to wish all competitors taking part in the War Of The Wings series all the best. SDU will keep you up todate with the progress of this years series.